Book Tag: I Love Spring

Title in white on book pages

It’s still spring so time for the first tag in a while. This tag was created by booktuber Helene Jeppesen and I was tagged by Ashlee (Books are 42). It is a really nice post that’s got some interesting, non-book questions, so that’s a nice change.


How is Spring where you Live?

I live in the UK, in London, so wet. And I cycle into the lab four times a week so my waterproofs get a lot of use right about now.

Most Anticipated Book Release this Spring?

Book cover for BURNING CROWNS: title in gold on illustration of two girls in crowns holding a sword against a burning backdrop

I’m taking March-April-May to be Spring, and the book I was most excited for at the start of the year coming out in this period is probably BURNING CROWNS, by Catherine Doyle and Katherine Webber.

This is the finale to the TWIN CROWNS trilogy, a YA epic romantasy about twins separated at birth, one raised to be queen and the other as one of the persecuted witches. With the help of her best friend, witch Wren kidnaps her royal sister Rose, taking her place in order to usher in a new era. Cue magic, betrayal, romance, and a lot of action.

Show us a Book Cover that makes you Think of Spring

Book cover for TALES OF THE CELESTIAL KINGDOMS: title in gold on pink moon on green with peach tree

I found this one pretty hard as Spring is paler coloured flowers that aren’t yet open. Lots of green, not a lot of yellow and not to bold a red or pink. So I scrolled through my saved photos on the website and eventually thought of TALES OF THE CELESTIAL KINGDOM, by Sue Lynn Tan, the companion bind up of short stories set in the world of DAUGHTER OF THE MOON GODDESS.

There aren’t actually that many flowers if any on this cover. Instead, it’s peaches which probably ripen too late in the year to count as spring. But it’s a pale green and pink colour palate and has natural imagery, so I’m counting it.

Where are you going to Read this Spring?

At home! Why does this make me so excited? I spent the first three months of the year travelling a lot for my PhD, which I am grateful I got to do, but it does take it’s toll (I write this coming out of a chronic fatigue crash brought on by it.) By the time this post goes out I will be done with work-related travel until August and I am so excited for that fact.

Find a Cover with the Sun on it

Book cover for UNCONQUERABLE SUN: title in red on a burning sun above a ship-filled city scape

Unlike the previous cover question, this one was very easy – simply type in the word “sun” to the photo search function and pick the one I wanted.

I decided to go for maybe a less well known title, UNCONQUERABLE SUN, by Kate Elliot, a gender-bent, sci-fi re-imagining of the life of Alexander the Great. I really enjoyed this title at the time but there were a lot of delays to the second book’s release, which meant it rather fell off my radar I never got around to it. Maybe one to see if my local library has?

What are your Favourite Spring Reads?

Spring is not really a season where I read any genre specifically. I’m usually trying to catch up on the winter publishing boom and trying to get ahead of the big May release window, so I read a wide range of genres and a lot of big releases.

Find a Book with Many Different Colours on it

Book cover for OVERTHINKING: title in purple on illustration of a white girl with orange hair, a white boy with blue hair, and a brown boy with dark hair, all on yellow

OVERTHINKING, by David Fenne, is the sequel to his YA contemporary fantasy debut, OVEREMOTIONAL. Both cover are very colourful, but I think this sequel is a bit more colourful. That might just be the fact that the yellow pops more than the blue of the previous cover.

This is a big hearted series about a teenager whose emotions manifest as magic, but in reverse. For example, bad things happen when he’s happy. As if being a teen wasn’t difficult enough when your emotions don’t cause explosions.


I’m tagging Rebbie (Rebbie Reviews) and anyone else who wants to take part!

Leave a comment