Top Ten Tuesday: Unread Books on my Shelves that I Want to Read Soon

"Tope Ten Tuesday" in a white font mimicking handwriting on navy starry skies

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly meme, hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Everyone is welcome to join in the fun.

This week’s title rather speaks for itself. However, it’s me, so I’m putting in a caveat. It was not long ago that my Spring TBR post went live, and that is entirely made up of unread books. So this list is not a repeat of that, I am not going to include any books on that list here.


1. THE POMEGRANATE GATE, by Ariel Kaplan

Book cover for THE POMEGRANATE GATE: title in gold on navy with a pale blue geometric surrounding with pomegranates

THE POMEGRANATE GATE is the first in a fantasy series set in an alternate Europe where you can step through to another world through gates. Two characters are drawn together by the worlds and a mystery stretching across them. It draws on Jewish traditions and folklore too.

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book and the second book in the trilogy is out this year. Therefore, I’d like to read this book before then in order to decide if I want to continue on with the rest of the series.

2. SUN OF BLOOD AND RUIN, by Marilyn Lares

Book cover for SUN OF BLOOD AND RUIN: title in white on red with a snake and jaguar fighting in leaves and flowers

Another first in trilogy, SUN OF BLOOD AND RUIN is a South American-set historical fantasy that blend the conquistadors and Mesoamerican mythology. It also retells the Legend of Zorro (a tale I’m not familiar other than the general references one picks up from pop culture!)

The second book of this series has yet to be announced so I at least have more time that with the one above! It is also, I believe, a bit shorter of a read, so might be a good one to pick up when I want something quicker to read.

3. BEYOND, by Mercedes Lackey

Book cover for BEYOND: title in white on blue above a white symbol with crowns and moons in circles

I have not read any Mercedes Lackey books ever, and she seems like a pretty major author in SFF that I ought to, so BEYOND will be my first taste of her books. Why this one? A mix of it being newer (so hearing more about it) and the fact the cover is a very bold, eye catching blue.

Not knowing so much about her work, what follows could well be wrong, but I’m pretty sure this is the first in a prequel trilogy that sits before one of her more well known series. I don’t mind coming in at the prequel. Sure, I won’t get any references, but it also avoids the potential “well I know how it has to end because of the next series” which can sometimes undermine tension for me.

4. AFTER THE FOREST, by Kell Woods

Book cover for AFTER THE FOREST: title in white on image of a woman in a forest with golden branches around

US and UK covers are often quite different if a book has different publishers. As I am familiar with the UK trends, I tend to prefer the UK covers, but this book is a case where I really don’t like the UK cover and think the US one is much better (if makes it look like a YA or MG rather than adult.)

AFTER THE FOREST is a retelling/reimaginging of Hansel and Gretel that occurs after the fairy tale has ended – and things aren’t as happily ever after for them. Family deaths, debt, the country going sideways, and people are getting suspicious of the delicious gingerbread they make to stay afloat.

5. ‘TIL DEATH DO US BARD, by Rose Black

Book cover for TIL DEATH DO US BARD: title in blue on pink in purple with shields and animals

‘TIL DEATH DO US BARD is a brilliant title and half the reason I paid attention to this book in the first place. I like how it plays on the common wedding vow, highlighting the relationship aspect of the book, but also the role of bards too.

This sounds like a cosy fantasy about a retired warrior being forced back into work to find his missing bard husband. There are unicorns and necromancy, and a marriage that needs saving thanks to secrets. Sounds like a good one to pick up when I want something light.

6. A TEMPEST OF TEA, by Hafsah Faizal

Book cover for A TEMPEST OF TEA: title in white on blue and pink illustration of a girl holding an overflowing cup of tea

I enjoyed WE HUNT THE FLAME but not the sequel, WE FREE THE STARS, so A TEMPEST OF TEA is my “second chance” book for the author. It is the start of a new duology that is, I believe, entirely unrelated to the author’s debut series. It certainly is a different setting.

The premise about tea shops and heists and fighting colonialism is intriguing, but it also has vampires and I’m not the biggest fan of them (and think they’re too common at the moment so finding a new take on them is pretty hard.)

7. SUNBRINGER, by Hannah Kaner

Book cover for SUNBRINGER: title in copper on a coppery moon on blue with a man made of seaweed holding a trident

The sequel to GODKILLER, SUNBRINGER is potentially the shortest book on the list, though longer than the preceding book. This is the third book in a trilogy, but unlike some trilogies, middle book “why don’t I just wait for the finale book before reading” doesn’t seem to be hitting, so something to capitalise on.

This is a world where the gods spring from belief and can be killed – and people like Kissen make their job going around and killing them. But not everyone wants that and some gods are harder to kill than others.

8. THE WARM HANDS OF GHOSTS, by Katherine Arden

Book cover for THE WARM HANDS OF GHOSTS: title in white on blue with gold border and a cello in the centre of the o

Like BEYOND above, I haven’t read a Katherine Arden book before. People keep telling me to read The Winternight Trilogy (and the first book, THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE is on my shelf.) I simply have not got around to her books yet.

THE WARM HANDS OF GHOSTS, her latest book, seems like a good place for me to start. It’s a historical fantasy set during World War One about a nurse trying to find her missing brother and both of them confronting the trauma of their situations as ghosts move across the trenches.

9. INANNA, by Emily H. Wilson

Book cover for INANNA: title in gold on blue in a geometric lattice border with a person rising with a sun behind them

INANNA is another series starter with a sequel out soon (GILGAMESH). I really want to read this one before GILGAMESH comes out, so I can decide whether to dive right into the sequel or whether the series is not for me.

This is a retelling of The Epic of Gilgamesh, a Sumerian epic about colliding gods and mortals as young goddess Inanna who is the goddess of love but finds herself born into a world at war and whose life tangles with that of a legendary warrior and a solider, who together might change the world.

10. DISCIPLES OF CHAOS, by M. K. Lobb

Book cover for DISCIPLES OF CHAOS: title in white on red below crumbling white building

The only series finale on this list, DISCIPLES OF CHAOS is the sequel to SEVEN FACELESS SAINTS, a YA fantasy. Given quite a few on this list are series starters or continuers, having something that completes a series might be a nice way to feel like I’ve achieved something or removed a series from my reading list, if I need that little boost.

This is a series where saints and their disciples rule but when a murderer stalks the streets, two unlikely allies have to find a way to work together and find the killer before it’s too late.


What books do you keep meaning to read?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unread Books on my Shelves that I Want to Read Soon

  1. You have some great-sounding books on your list. I hope you are able to get to these soon and enjoy them. Mercedes Lackey is an author I have been meaning to read for years now but I’m not sure where to start since there are so many books at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suspect this might not be the place fans who are up on the books would recommend, but it’s where I’m going to start as it’s the book I have!

      Like

    1. There are at least several months left in the year to achieve that! I think end of the year is a reasonable target for me to aim to finish this list too

      Like

Leave a comment